Tags

, , , , , ,

I went to a marriage seminar by Dr. Gary Chapman, the author of The 5 Love Languages, several years ago. The advice he gave at that seminar was so practical that I have used it over and over in all my relationships. Dr. Chapman writes the following blurb for this book: “Les and Leslie deal in the real world and offer real solutions.” I thought, if Dr. Chapman can say this about the Parrott’s book, they must have something real to offer. I wasn’t disappointed.

Isn’t marriage supposed to make us happy? That question may reveal one of the myths that everyone believes in at least once in their lives. Unfortunately, even when we find our soul mates, our ideal partner or marry our best friend, “marriage” does not make us happy. “Happiness, after all, is not something that happens, it’s something you make.” Says Drs. Les & Leslie Parrott in their new book “Making Happy- The Art and Science of a Happy Marriage”.

Although marriage doesn’t make you happy—you can make your marriage happy. Of all the books on marriage, and I’ve read a lot of them, this one captivated me from the beginning. Usually, I get bogged down in the “clinical” aspect, or actually say, “Get real!” to the book as I think the author must be a very boring partner. Textbook help on marriages doesn’t always work in real life. At least not the life that I live. Life is messy. Marriage is messy. It is hard work, but it is well worth it!

Making Happy gives us a lot of practical and useful advice. They don’t sugar coat it. They don’t live a fairy tale existence or try to tell you how to live one. They just give you ways to celebrate each other, attune your spirits, have fun, and overcome the big hurdles as a couple, and even give you a three week happiness plan to practice making your marriage a happy one. They promise that you will feel the results in your relationship immediately. I believe it.

You can even download the free 3-week happiness plan at Makinghappybook.com

