Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Max Davis is the author of this novel, but I could almost swear Nick Gregory, Mega-church pastor, depressed, empty, regret and guilt-ridden Nick himself, penned his autobiography. I don’t read many novels because they are either too “clinical”, to straightforward, too simplistic, or too shallow…too SOMETHING with nothing in between. I want real life. I love reading fantasy, but make it believable and you’ve got to get me hooked from the first chapter or I may put it down for another day. This book has both as Nick sinks from his stinking life into a comatose state and then he is Mephibosheth, another broken man from a different time.

From the first, I’m so sucked into Nick’s miserable life that I can’t hardly put the book down. I’m attached to him. I’m relating to him. I can see him in my mind’s eye and can hear his humiliating thoughts in my own head. This is real life stuff. This is human brokenness of our own little homes being displayed on the big screen for everyone to read about. Loss. Faced with divorce and death and all the emotional pain that goes with it, here’s someone who has surely read my blog and heard my story, writing it down and making me cry because I get it. Same kind of dead dogs just like me.

But wait, that’s not all! There’s more. There’s outrageous grace for all dead dogs.

